Home » Migrated » AdZU students’ animation shorts bag prizes in National Competition

AdZU students’ animation shorts bag prizes in National Competition

AdZU Students’ Animation Shorts bag prizes in National Competition

The animation films of two Ateneo de Zamboanga University students won in the Animahenasyon: 8th Philippine Animation Festival, held November 25-28, 2014, at iAcademy in Makati City. Bira’y Bira, directed by Martin Luigi G. Bugante, won three awards: Best Animated Short, Best Regional Entry, and Texter’s Choice Award in Category H – Animated Shorts 01:00 to 05:59 minute. Jeffrey Ramos’ Hanes Barako won in Category L of Best Animated TVCs, OBBs, Infomercials, Teasers & Demo Reels. Both Bugante and Ramos are Bachelor of Science in New Media and Computer Animation students. Aside from these two short animation films, other ADZU films were named finalists in Animahenasyon.

These films were produced with the supervision of instructor Victor Ian Covarrubias during his Computer Animation Rendering class in the first semester. Computer Animation professor Romeo A. Rabajante Jr.’s Abiso was a finalist in Category F – Animated TVCs, OBBs, Infomercials, Teasers & Demo Reels (Professional Division). The short was done with Rabajante’s Computer Animation 103 (A) Stop Motion Students. Strepsils TVC, directed by Carl Joseph C. Jaldon was Finalist Category L – Animated TVCs, OBBs, Infomercials, Teasers & Demo Reels. Omar Sharif Bael Warad Anak Dilaut (Young Diver) was finalist in Category H – Animated Shorts, 01:00 to 05:59min and his “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” (Assassin Robot) was finalist in Category K – Animated Music Videos. The team behind Bira’y Bira included Windel Opinion, MC Manapol II, Reynold Ong, Zanshevar Rivera Shammah, Alyana Garcia, Jon Marlo Panong, Frances Grace Florendo, and Jefrey Ramos.

While the production crew of Anak Dilaut consisted of Erlene Mae Serneo, Kathryn Tarroza, Kathryn Mercado, Jeff Matthew Sainz, Robert Dodge Jimenea, John Gregor dapiton, Jan Vincenzo Duquillo, Dordylle Lucenda. The Computer Animation department fielded these films to other national competitions this year. Abiso, Bira’y Bira, Anak Dilaut, and Alexis Cheong’s El Limosnero were finalists in the 26th Gawad CCP Para sa Alternatibong Pelikula at Video held on November 19-21, 2014 in Manila. More recently, Rabajante’s Abiso was finalist in the animation category of the 10th Mindanao Film Festival, December 3-9, 2014 Gaisano Mall of Davao.