Close this search box.
Close this search box.
Close this search box.
Home » Migrated » Ateneo bags awards in Mindanao Film Tilt

Ateneo bags awards in Mindanao Film Tilt

Ateneo Bags Awards in Mindanao Film Tilt

Ateneo de Zamboanga University College of Science and Information Technology
and School of Liberal Arts capped the year 2017 with several awards in the 15th
Mindanao Film Festival and Festival De Cine Paz Mindanao.

Atenean-filmmakers bested other entries in the two film fests, held November
30-December 3, 2017 and December 11, 2017 at the Palacio del Sur, Zamboanga
City and Gaisano Mall Cinema in Davao respectively.

Festival Cine De Paz Mindanao, a festival showcasing the different faces of
peace and strengthening its vision of sustainability, the animated film Timora Tali Apuera si Ramil by Roberto
Oquias Jr, alumnus and current faculty of the Computer Science Department
bagged the Feather of the Future award.
This award is given to the film that opens new perspective on peace and cinema.
Also present was Ryan Joseph Murcia, faculty of CS Department and Alumnus of
the COMMS Department, as the Festival Director.

a jury composed of movie directors and film makers gave the Stopmotion Animated
film entitled, Out of the Paper the Best Technical Achievement nod during
the 15th Mindanao Film Festival– an award-giving body that screens films made
in Mindanao or by Mindanaoan filmmakers. The animated film was produced by BS
New Media and Computer Animation students with Jeremias Dulaca II as the Director
with Lois Alano, Karina Brandes, Aisha Sarajan, and Erico Angelo Palacio as team
members. On the other hand, the film Astri
maka si Tambullah produced by Communication Arts Alumni Aedrian Araojo,
Arnel Barbarona, and Joseph Suarez won major awards for Best Production Design, Best
Cinematography, and Best Film.



following films also vied as finalists in the Mindanao Film Festival 2017. Cakes by Al-Kadra Antao; Cascade by Terence Dale Dimaano with
team members Myrrh Samantha Sumapig, Joshua Dela Cruz, and Eula Morales; El Verdad by Peter Gabriel Encarnacion
with team members Rosette Caolie, Jaynuddin Yusoph, and Floracel Veras; Endeavor by Kendrick Rico; Escogido by Ian Victor Moritcho; Fuego by Ian Kenneth Barade with team
members Deomart Fergio Ramos, Jacques Aldous Corral, and Kenneth Nalam; Hurgesa by Joshlyn Natielle Mei Hussin;
Is it my turn by Joshua Nacionales
with team members Ruziel Tingkahan, Sabrina Mae Tan, and Renzo Oraa; Kit by Ryan Covarrubias; Out of the Paper by Jeremias Dulaca II
with team members Lois Alano, Karina Brandes, Aisha Sarajan, and Erico Angelo
Palacio; Redd by Joselanne Ericka Perez
with team members Esmher Jandayan, JC Perez, and Mave Jane Wee; Si Ongka El Aspin by Kendrick Fernandez
with team members Frantz Merrill Sucro, Joshua Adonai Diaz,  and Lorenzo Emerson Yagong; The Glow by Ascaño, Ahmad Ysmael; and The Promise by Hazel Rosie Bayaras with
team members Carl Venson Zarraga and Dariel Dryan Tadus.