Close this search box.
Close this search box.
Close this search box.
Home » Migrated » Creation of University Formation Council

Creation of University Formation Council

30 June 2016



In the University Strategic Planning Conference held last May, Formation resounded as a major strategic thrust for the University. Indeed, as members of a Jesuit academic community, we are all formators and culture-bearers.


Thus, we affirm this aspect of our mission as equally important as academic and social development. We see as essential, the need to consolidate and strengthen our formation programs, policies and processes in the University. We see as expedient, the unequivocal articulation of our Jesuit character and Ignatian mission, especially in the light of the challenges of multi-identity, diversity, historical healing and the youth.


Corollary to this, I have constituted the University Formation Council which will work towards achieving this central strategic thrust. It is composed of the following:


CONVENOR: Fr Wilfredo M Samson, SJ – Assistant for Formation and College Chaplain


Fr Arnel ‘Atong’ T Ong, SJ – Basic Education (GS, JHS) Chaplain
Fr Francisco ‘Koko’ Parilla SJ – Senior High School Chaplain and Assistant College Chaplain
Ms Elena B Segurigan – GS Assistant Principal for Formation
Mr Honey Rod T Alfaro – JHS Assistant Principal for Formation/ JHS Campus Ministry Director
Ms Raissa M Ponce – SHS Assistant Principal
Dr Robert V Panaguiton Dean, the School, Liberal Arts
Mr Marlone M Araneta Chair, Philosophy Department
Mr Joseph A Climaco – Chair, Religious Studies Department
Ms Virginia Q Dela Cruz – Chair, GS Religion Department
Br Lloyd V Sabio – Chair, JHS Religion Department
Ms Christine V Calunod – Director, Office Student Affairs
Ms Lucia M Macrohon – Director, SHS Office of Student Services
Ms Rossini T Gregorio – Director, GS Campus Ministry
Ms Judith Joy V Tugade – Director, College Campus Ministry
Ms Ma Pilar M De Guzman – Director, GS Guidance Office
Ms Amy C Valmonte – Director, JHS Guidance Office
Ms Norma A Baluca – Director, Guidance and Counseling Office
Mr Dennis G Falcasantos – Acting Director, Alumni Relations Office
Ms Sheirhana A Salialam – JHS Social Action Coordinator
Ms Raquel A Salvacion – Director, Social Awareness and Community Service Involvement Office
Mr Roque S Morales – Coordinator for Muslim Affairs
Mr Roniel Y Soriano – GS Athletics Coordinator
Mr Erwin G Pelayo – JHS Athletics Coordinator
Mr Rommel A Cuaresma – College Athletics Coordinator

The work of the Council shall, ultimately, define our unique institutional character as Ateneo de Zamboanga University; one that shall edify all our efforts in the service or our University’s mission.


I thank the Council members for their generosity and availability for this vital task. I ask the University Community for prayers and support.



University President


MEMO 16-17:05