Home » School of Liberal Arts News » ADZU student filmmakers emerge victorious at CineChavacano Film Festival

ADZU student filmmakers emerge victorious at CineChavacano Film Festival

The two top prizes in the recently concluded Cinechavacano Film Festival went to ADZU students.

The film festival had two categories, live action and animation.

In the Animation Category,  Dale Aldrin Lee Maniego’s Tienda de Juguete was judged champion. Maniego did the film last year, during his senior year as a BS New Media and Computer Animation student.

Top prize for the Live Action Category went to Jorzheema M. Hamid, for  El Muerte del Un Mariposa (The Death of a Butterfly). The film’s production team also included Anthony Neil A. Drapiza , Emmanuel C. Buenvenida , Khaled T. Majid , and Jehyo B. Baraquia.

Cinechavacano was organized by the city government as part of the celebration of the 4th Dia de Fundacion de Chavacano. The awarding ceremony was held at Centro Latino on June 23, 2015 during  “Noche de Chavacano”. The competition was open to all Zamboangueño-based professional or student filmmakers and animators.

Other ADZU students whose films made it as finalists in the Animation Category are Alted Nebrija (Comida Zamboanga), Aljhun Rey Canillo (Movimiento), Anthony Neil A. Drapiza (Terminado Y Hecho),  Jerome Peniones (El Niño Pescador),  Jorzheema M. Hamid (Cuando Contigo), and Abraham Ysmael Alvarez (Juego de Rol).

Two ADZU films were named finalist in the live action category: Mal Sueño (Nightmare) directed and written by Ryan Covarrubias and Tagu-Taguan (Hide and Seek) by Aljhun Rey Canillo.

The production team behind Mal Sueño includes Kendrick Rico, Aljhun Canillo, Kim Tayona, Dale Aldrin Lee Maniego, with their former film class instructor Joseph Suarez as creative consultant.

Tagu-Taguan’s production Team consist of Al John Rey Pundal, James Gabriel Jalon, Rezamar Tajil, Rey Andrei Molina, Ryan Covarrubias, Rikka Mandanas, Jerome Peniones, Jeffrey Capinpin, and Emmanuel Raymond Sevilla

The first prize winners and finalists are either students or recent graduates of  BS New Media, Computer Animation (BS NMCA) and  BS Information Technology (BSIT) programs.