Home » Migrated » AdZU scribes win big in campus journ confab

AdZU scribes win big in campus journ confab

AdZU Scribes Win Big in Campus Journ Confab

Ateneo de Zamboanga University as represented by The BEACON (College Category), Blue Eagle Publications and Animo Aguila (High School Category-English), and La Liga Atenista (High School Category-Filipino) bagged a total of 21 awards at the recently held 9th National Media Conference (NMC).

The AdZU contingent competed against 61 other publications(48 colleges and universities; 13 high schools)and brought home the following titles:


1st Place for Lead Writing (English): Pristine Janielle Padua

1st Place for Lead Writing (Filipino): Trisha Ortega

2nd Place for Digital Photography (English): Mark Phillip Ycaza

2nd Place for Digital Photography (Filipino): Mohamad Sarajan

3rd Place for Collaborative Publishing: Bianca Alyanna Zamora (Layouting),

Irene Wahab (Straight News), Pristine Janielle Padua (Feature Writing), Mark PhillipYcaza (Photojournalism), Audrie Keith Sepe (Sports Writing), Ionee Bel Garcia (Editorial Cartooning) and Kent Kerby Bayona (Editorial & Opinion Writing)

4th Place for Graphic Story (Filipino): Ionee BelGarcia

4th Place for Editorial Cartooning (Filipino): Ionee Bel Garcia

7th Place for News Editing and Headline Writing (English): Aseya Khadija Calo

5th Place for News Editing and Headline Writing (Filipino): Irene Wahab

5th Place for Magazine Photo: The BEACON Magazine’s Sept-Oct 2015 Issue

Blue Eagle Publications

1st Place for Collaborative Publishing: Joshua Rommel Vargas,

Aeryne Chloe Cabahug, Mykeel Anne Tatel, Rey Bautista, Joey Castillo, Kyle Alfonso Oyong, Zacchary Masamayor

1st Place for Graphic Story: Stefan Dela Cruz

2nd Place for Digital Photography: Joshua Rommel Vargas

3rd Place for Editorial Cartooning: Kyle Alfonso Oyong

4th Place for Lead Writing: Zacchary Masamayor

6th Place -Pambansang Pampautakang Pampahayagan: Aeryne Chloe Cabahug

La Liga Atenista

2nd Place for Digital Photography: Sharfa Abbie (also representing Animo Aguila)

2nd Place for Lead Writing: Myca Dane Sapitula

2nd Place for Collaborative Publishing: Anthony Godwin Jandusay, Sharfa Abbie,

Adrian Lance Lagumbay, Ahmad Panduga, Sheriemike Gadin,

Florence Midel, Algene Marhee Amiruddin, Myca Dane Sapitula

5th Place for News Editing and Headline Writing: Anthony Godwin Jandusay

7th Place – Pambansang Pampautakang Pampahayagan: Adrian Lagumbay

The NMC is an annual event organized by the School Press Advisers Movement. With the theme, “Responding to the Challenges and Demands of Responsible Journalism,” the event aimed to recognize the abilities of campus journalists and advisers, hone their talents, and provide them with the recent trends in campus journalism.

In addition, two The BEACON members were also elected officers to the National Federation of Campus Journalists: incumbent editor-in-chief Trisha Ortega as Treasurer and current creative director Bianca Alyana Zamoraas the College Representative for Mindanao.

AdZU Junior HS faculty James De Los Reyes, Carlito Robin and Marra Vesagas lead the delegation together with The BEACON moderator Marion Guerrero.

This year’s NMC was held at Paras Beach Resort, Mambajao, Camiguin fromOctober 27 to 29.